Rpi goto returns no such line

Discussions related specifically to the Windows, Linux (86), Mac OS-X and Raspberry Pi editions of BB4W and BBCSDL
Post Reply
tsmspace
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun 16 Dec 2018, 00:40

Rpi goto returns no such line

Post by tsmspace » Sun 16 Dec 2018, 00:46

Long story: i copied acey ducey from a wiki reference games book

It works until the first goto call, then returns no such line. At the prompt goto 10 restarts the program, but goto 20 returns no such line. I do have code at the lines in question,,, so dont understand!

tsmspace
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun 16 Dec 2018, 00:40

Re: Rpi goto returns no such line

Post by tsmspace » Sun 16 Dec 2018, 01:01

Oops. Well, in the first editor, you enter line numbers and they vanish, so i didnt know the doc still stored them, and then, of course, i didnt enter numbers the rest of the time. Using the second editor option, i see the line numbers, and am up and running,,, (except for some typos....)

guest
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon 02 Apr 2018, 09:12

Re: Rpi goto returns no such line

Post by guest » Sun 16 Dec 2018, 10:26

tsmspace wrote:
Sun 16 Dec 2018, 01:01
Well, in the first editor, you enter line numbers and they vanish, so i didnt know the doc still stored them
There's an option in BBCEdit: 'Show BASIC line numbers' (in the Utils menu) which probably wasn't set. Admittedly that option is somewhat unusual (SDLIDE always displays line numbers if they are present); it may be that Andy hoped it would discourage their use. Although BBC BASIC has always supported line numbers (principally for compatibility with other 1980s-vintage BASICs) it has never been necessary or desirable to use them other than for editing or debugging.

Andy will probably respond himself. He will be better able than I am to explain the rationale behind that option and whether what you experienced is what is supposed to happen. Switching to the alternative IDE was a useful diagnostic step; if you spot something that you think might be an IDE problem it's a good idea.

Andy
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun 16 Dec 2018, 21:24

Re: Rpi goto returns no such line

Post by Andy » Sun 16 Dec 2018, 21:41

Richard is correct that I was discouraging the use of line numbers, however it is an oversight on my part that BBCEdit does not automatically switch to showing newly entered BASIC line numbers. As it stands BBCEdit should automatically show them when loading a program that already contains them. So thank you for pointing this out. BBCEdit still leaves a lot to be desired. I'm in the process of making some small improvements to BBCEdit having just modified it for 64-bit compatibility, so this is good timing for me, I'll add this to my job list. Many thanks.

Post Reply