BB4W can't run any of my own sources

Discussions related specifically to the Windows, Linux (86), Mac OS-X and Raspberry Pi editions of BB4W and BBCSDL
arcadeaction
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed 29 Sep 2021, 20:14

BB4W can't run any of my own sources

Post by arcadeaction »

Hello,

I registered BBC for Windows back in 2014. I don't remember the version I got back then.
Recently I upgraded to 6.14a. It seems to recognize my registration key, as my serial number is quoted on the About page.

I always wanted to do "something" with BBC Basic's awesome (and rather unique) Mode 7, so after all those years, I finally wanted to experiment and really create something myself in BBC BASIC. That's what programming languages are all about, isn't it....

Now my problem: I can load any supplied example file, press run and... presto... the sample runs fine. Even complex graphical ones.

However, if I click "New". and enter a one-line command, like "print 30", when running, I get a window, which only prints "Mistake" and a ">" prompt. Whatever I enter there ("print 10 + 3", "10"...), I get a "Mistake" or "Syntax error" response.

Did I break something when upgrading, or am I just too unfamiliar with the BBC BASIC language/environment itself? I searched (including a Google), but could not find relevant topics. Judging from my Downloads directory, I used "upgrade.exe" to upgrade my old copy. I apparently upgraded about 6 months ago.

My setup: Old 2014-ish Intel i7 HP Inspiron all-in-one desktop, 12 GB of memory, Windows 10 (64 bit).

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,
arcadeaction
Last edited by arcadeaction on Wed 29 Sep 2021, 21:11, edited 1 time in total.

arcadeaction
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed 29 Sep 2021, 20:14

Re: BB4W can't run any of my own sources

Post by arcadeaction »

OK I am stupid...

Looks like I did not know at this point that BBC Basic is case sensitive :shock:

KenDown
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2018, 06:36

Re: BB4W can't run any of my own sources

Post by KenDown »

You can set BB4W so that it will allow lower case commands, but I strongly urge you not to do so. The convention of upper case commands and lower case variable names really does help with clarity. Enjoy your coding.

DDRM
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon 02 Apr 2018, 18:04

Re: BB4W can't run any of my own sources

Post by DDRM »

Hi Arcadeaction,

Welcome to the forum, and welcome to programming, too, if this is the first time you've really tried to get into it. As you've noticed, it can be incredibly frustrating when you get stuck on some little point you can't find the way round, but it is also very rewarding when you finally win through...

Don't confuse ignorance with stupidity - one can be easily cured, and you've already shown you are in that camp!

Please feel free to ask for help and guidance here - no questions are stupid, though they often reveal ignorance - which we can (sometimes) help with...

Best wishes,

David